top of page
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup


When I was pregnant I planned ahead for everything. The bigger I got, the more I bought tiny clothes, tiny shoes, tiny everything. Then finally in June I was done working and I had the time to prepare something else for this little bundle of joy. Our freezer. FREEZER MEALS are the real backbone of the postpartum transition. I couldn't do anything other than snuggle my baby for the first two weeks home from the hospital and that was okay with me. All summer long I spent my afternoons prepping and preparing meals for Sean to pull from the freezer and reheat easily for the two of us. Takeout in the area we live in is abysmal so this was a true lifesaver and I will pass it on to whomever is pregnant next. This one was a mash up of a few different recipes I found online. I'm not that into my slow cooker but every time I do use it, I wonder why I don't use it more. It's a stressless timesaver! This recipe freezes beautifully and it was one of the best alternatives to eating takeout. The prep time is seriously about 10 minutes, so no excuses.

Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup

(serves 4-6)

ingredients:

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts

  • 2 cups organic chicken stock

  • 1 package red enchilada sauce (you can make your own but there are seriously great store bought versions available now) it's about 1 1/4 cups but it's okay to be liberal

  • 2 14 oz. cans black beans, drained

  • 1 14 oz. can whole kernel sweet corn, drained

  • 1 14 oz. can fire roasted tomatoes w/ juices

  • 2 4 oz. cans diced green chiles w/ juices

  • 1 tbsp minced garlic

  • 1 onion, peeled and finely diced

  • 1 tsp ground cumin

  • 1 tsp adobo seasoning

  • freshly cracked black pepper

For Serving:

Diced Avocado

Sour Cream

Grated Cheese (cheddar/monterey jack)

Lime Wedges

Fresh Cilantro

Crushed Tortilla Chips or Tortilla Strips

Combine all ingredients from chicken to pepper in a slow cooker. Cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 6-8 hours until chicken shreds easily. Season with kosher salt & pepper if necessary. Serve with any or all toppings listed.

This recipe freezes extremely well.

 

bottom of page