top of page
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Harissa Roasted Chicken Thighs w/ Chickpeas & Lemon


This recipe is ripped from Bon Appetit. Harissa is a North African chili paste. I used it before I ever really knew what it was. I found this recipe in Bon Appetit magazine about 3 years before I even knew what The Smile was. I ordered the tube off of Amazon for about $5. If you're lucky enough, you'll get to experience their Harissa Honey Rotisserie Chicken in your lifetime. My friend Erika would take the spicy bones after we broke down all the chickens for service and she would make Harissa Chicken Stock for Pho. I still dream about it. It was magnificent. I'm too lazy to rotisserie anything at home because I don't want to clean the whole thing afterward so this is my alternative when I get a craving. Make sure you finish with the fresh lemon, it makes all the difference. I also like to serve it alongside fresh pita or naan for sopping up all of those juice along with a long grain rice like basmati. Greek yogurt is a nice accompaniment if you find Harissa too spicy. Also, I halve this recipe for two of us, if you make the full recipe at the bottom, you're going to need a much larger cast iron skillet than the 9-10 inch standard.

Harissa Roasted Chicken Thighs w/ Chickpeas & Lemon

Serves 4

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • 8 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs (about 3 lb.)

  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

  • 1 small onion, finely chopped

  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste

  • 2 15-oz. cans chickpeas, rinsed

  • ¼ cup harissa paste

  • ½ cup low-sodium chicken broth

  • ¼ cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

  • Lemon wedges, naan, long grain basmati rice and greek yogurt for serving

  1. Preheat oven to 425°. Heat oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Working in 2 batches, cook until browned, about 5 minutes per side; transfer to a plate.

  2. Pour off all but 1 Tbsp. drippings from pan. Add onion and garlic; cook, stirring often, until softened, about 3 minutes. Add tomato paste and cook, stirring, until beginning to darken, about 1 minute. Add chickpeas, harissa, and broth; bring to a simmer.

  3. Nestle chicken, skin side up, in chickpeas; transfer skillet to oven. Roast until chicken is cooked through, 20–25 minutes. Top with parsley and serve with lemon wedges for squeezing over.

 

bottom of page